When the Bisliganon and its public officials were in search for the catalyst of Bislig, Barobo, Hinatuan, Lingig and Tagbina (BIBAHILITA) development, Congressman Jesnar R. Falcon of Surigao del Sur, initiated a resolution establishing a state university within the region. On August 10, 1997 marked the Foundation Day of the University of Southeastern Philippines - Bislig campus with Board of Regents Chairman Hon. Angel C. Alcala (CHED) and University President Dr. Edmundo B. Prantilla at Maharlika, Bislig City. It is located 7 kilometers from the heart of the city and has four (4) sister campuses namely Obrero (Davao), Mintal (Davao), Tagum and Mabini.